Sustainability Committee

Terms of Reference:

To advise the President on:

  1. the direction and priority of sustainability related policies, strategies and initiatives for the University within the context of the University Strategic Plan
  2. a set of measures and indicators to facilitate the University’s internal and external reporting on sustainability
  3. the sustainable operation of the University on education, research and knowledge transfer activities

Constitution and Membership

Constitution Membership *

Associate Provost (Institutional Initiatives)

Prof Samuel HO
Ex-officio members:

Vice-President (Administration)

Mr Sunny LEE

Director of Facilities Management

Ms Brenda LAI

Director of Campus Development


Director of Finance

Mr Simon TANG

Director of Student Development Services


Student Representative from SU’s Environmental Protection Society

Mr Justin FUNG (President)
One academic representative nominated by the Dean of College/School

By the Dean of College of Business

Dr William CHUNG (1/1/2017 to 31/12/2019)

By the Dean of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

Dr Han SHI (1/1/2016 to 31/12/2017)

By the Dean of College of Science and Engineering

Dr Doris W T AU (1/1/2017 to 31/12/2019)

By the Dean of School of Creative Media

Mr Scott HESSELS (1/1/2017 to 31/12/2019)

By the Dean of School of Law

Dr Julia TOMASSETTI (1/1/2017 to 31/12/2019)

By the Dean of School of Environment and Engineering

Prof Peter BRIMBLECOMBE (1/1/2016 to 31/12/2017)

By the Dean of School of Veterinary Medicine

Dr Philip George STOTT (1/1/2016 to 31/12/2017)
Co-opted Member:

Principal Investigator of Community of Practice for Sustainability

Dr Xiaowei LUO
Dr Masaru Yarime
(Associate Professor, School of Energy and Environment)
Mr W K LEUNG (Senior Safety & Administration Manager of FMO)

Notes (*) : Terms of Office for members is 2 years staggered.

(as at 6 September 2017)